Censorship [Poem]

“Freedom of expression is the matrix, the indispensable condition, of nearly every other form of freedom.”
U.S. Supreme Court Justice Benjamin N. Cardozo in Palko v. Connecticut

Freedom of speech is
Freedom of speech is
Freedom of speech is my soul:

the ability to recount my experiences, to confer ideas and reciprocate my agreement.

Do you remember when I was told to bite my tongue? Do you remember when they told me to shut up or they’d bankrupt me with lawsuits? Do you remember when I deleted my accounts so they couldn’t send more threats?

No. Because I ran. Because I caved in under the pressure, BECAUSE I made a deal to save my career: MY future.

You had nothing, no one would take your side. I never hated you, I barely knew you, but I SCREWed YOU because there was nothing to protect me if I told the truth.

Didn’t they teach you in school; the law can’t help you if no one comes forward with proof.

Did you smell the burnt evidence on my clothes? Did you see my sleepless reflection in the hotel mirror after my trans-Pacific flight?

Did you hear the tension in my wrists as I accepted that a troupe of goons rule the world?

By Anonymous

Share your experience - Post a reply

